The City of La Palma Where Tradition and Vision Come Together...

Go To Search
Korean Japanese Chinese Spanish Filipino Vietnamese 
City of La Palma
7822 Walker Street
La Palma, CA 90623
Ph: (714) 690-3300
Fx: (714) 523-2141
City Council, Planning Commission, & Successor Agency to the Community Development Commission


Marshall Goodman_Page_1.jpg
First and third Tuesday of each month
7:00 p.m.
City Hall, 7822 Walker Street

Agendas and Minutes
City Council Meeting Audio

Ph: (714) 690-3333
City Council Email
Gerard Goedhart          
Mayor Pro Tem
Marshall Goodman

Peter L Kim
M Steggell

Council Member
Kathy Flachmeier
Council Member
Peter Kim   
Council Member
Michele Steggell                        

Composition and Election

The City Council consists of five members, elected from the City at-large, who serve four-year staggered terms. Elections are held on the first Tuesday of November of even-numbered years. The next municipal election for consideration of three council seats will be in November 2016.

Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem
Annually, the City Council appoints a Mayor and a Mayor Pro Tem from its own membership to serve a one-year term. The Mayor is responsible for presiding over City Council meetings, representing the City Council at various business and ceremonial events, and executing all City ordinances, resolutions and contracts. The Mayor Pro Tem performs these duties in the absence of the Mayor.

Responsibilities of the Council
As a legislative body, the City Council is responsible for the enactment of local laws (ordinances), the adoption of the annual City Budget and Capital Improvement Plan, and the review and adoption of proposed policies, agreements, contracts and other City business items.

The City Council also sits as the governing board of the La Palma Planning Commission and the Successor Agency to the La Palma Community Development Commission.

The City Council appoints the City Manager and City Attorney, as well as the members of the various Council-appointed committees and ad hoc committees.

Meetings of the City Council, Planning Commission, and the Successor Agency to the Community Development Commission are held on the first and third Tuesday of each month at City Hall, located at 7822 Walker Street. Meetings start at 7:00 pm and are open to the public. Agendas are available by calling the City Clerk's office at (714) 690-3334, or on the City’s website under Agendas and Minutes.

Any person wishing to address the City Council on any matter, whether or not it appears on the agenda, may do so under the Public Communications portion of the agenda. Each individual is asked to complete a Request to Speak form and is allowed five minutes to address the Council. No action will be taken on any items not on the agenda.